website statistics

Our Governance

Meet The Board

The governance of the Aequus Group is overseen by the Board as set out in the Company Articles of Association. The shareholder retains the right to appoint and remove directors on the Board. The Board has established a Remuneration Committee to set and oversee renumeration policy of the Group in accordance with the Code of Corporate Governance.

Charles Gerrish – Chair & Remuneration Committee Member (stepping down in May)

Charles is a retired local bank manager (ACIB), Cllr with Banes since 2003 (formally member of Wansdyke DC 1976-87). Charles has been involved with Charities within Keynsham.

Les Kew – Independent Non-Executive Director

Les is the property owner and proprietor of Cloud Hill Enterprises, and was previously Company Director and Chairman of Leslie J Kew Contractors Ltd.  Les has extensive executive and non-executive director experience including: Director and Chairman of Bristol City Football Club 1981 to 1994.  Council Member, as Representative for the Southwest, of the Football Association 1984 to 1993.  Member of the Football League Management Committee 1987 to 1993.  Elected Councillor Wansdyke District Council 1976 to 1984, Chairman 1980.  Elected Councillor Bath and North East Somerset 2003 to 2019, Chairman 2003.

Liz Pickering – Independent Non-Executive Director

Liz is a town planner and a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute, with a MSc in Development Planning and 18+ years’ experience in strategic planning and development

Liz is a town planner and a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute, with a MSc in Development Planning and 18+ years’ experience in strategic planning and development management in local and central government. She is a non-executive director with a Multi Academy Trust in Devon, chair of the trust’s Strategy Committee and a member of the Resources, Pay and Performance Committee, giving her wide-ranging experience of company governance and legal compliance.

Bob Marshall – Independent Non-Executive Director & Remuneration Committee Member

Bob is a qualified Accountant and spent most of his working life in local government including ten years as a Chief Executive. He also spent three years as a Director of Capita Management Services. He has been Chair of Westlea Housing Association, Chair of the Calne (Wiltshire) Our Place Group and Chair of the Lady Margaret Hungerford Almshouses in Corsham.

Professor Alexander Wright – Independent Non-Executive Director

Alex is Professor of Architecture at the University of Bath. He worked in private architectural practice for 15 years before accepting a full-time academic position in 2005. Alex is an expert advisor to the Ministerial Advisory Group for the Department for Communities (Northern Ireland), Chair of the Swindon Design Review Panel for Creating Excellence and served two consecutive terms as a Board Member for the Architects Registration Board.

Michelle Hyde – Independent Non-Executive Director & Remuneration Committee Member.

Michelle has 20 years’ experience in new homes, sales, development and property management. A varied career which has led to an enviable skill set when reviewing land opportunities, progressing developments through the planning process, to delivery of a scheme. Having worked at a senior management level for many years, Michelle has been responsible for budgets, risk management, health and safety compliance and ensuring that schemes comply with local authority and Homes England regulations.

Vic O’Brien – Housing Development

Vic’s career spans more than 30 years in Housing Development. He has over the last three years been working in senior interim roles for local authority housing companies and is presently the Interim Director of Development at Homes for Lambeth. For much of his career Vic has led Development teams including as a Development Director of a Housing Association for a period of 7 years. He has also held roles as a Partnership Director of a private company and worked as an independent consultant.

The Company is made up of  three divisions and two committees

  • Aequus Group Holdings Ltd – Holding Company
    • Audit and Risk Committee
    • Remuneration Committee
  • Aequus Developments Ltd – management and holding properties for the private rented sector.
  • Aequus Construction Ltd – Housing Developments primarily for sale