NS&I Board

The NS&I Board consists of Executive and Non-executive Directors and representatives of HM Treasury. Seven of the Board also make up the Executive Committee.



Ed Anderson CBE – Independent Non-executive Director and Chair

Ed was appointed as a Non-executive Director on 1 February 2016 and was appointed Chair on 1 January 2017.

Ed is currently Lord-Lieutenant of West Yorkshire. He was Chair of the Yorkshire Building Society from 2007 to 2015. He was Managing Director of Leeds Bradford Airport for 10 years and, until August 2019, was Chair of the Airport Operators Association (AOA).

He is also a former President, and Chair, of Leeds Chamber of Commerce and is a director of a number of other public and voluntary sector organisations in Yorkshire, including being a member of the Council of the University of Leeds, chairing its Audit and Risk Committee. Ed is an economics graduate and a qualified accountant.

He was awarded a CBE in the 2022 New Year's Honours list.



Nina Hingorani-Crain – Independent Non-executive Director

Nina was appointed as a Non-executive Director in November 2021. Nina has had a diverse 25-year career, with high profile roles in the corporate, public, regulatory and charity sectors. Her executive career has largely been in financial services and includes 10 years advising UK and global financial services organisations, followed by 10 years in senior roles at the UK's financial regulator, including as Chief of Staff and Principal Private Secretary to the Chair during the global financial crisis.

After leading the establishment of the Financial Conduct Authority, since 2015 Nina has focused on a Non-Executive career and is currently on the Board of the Charity Commission for England & Wales, and a London mental and community health NHS Foundation Trust.



Jill Lucas – Independent Non-executive Director

Jill was appointed a Non-Executive Director for a three-year term from February 2019. Jill has spent all her career in technology, currently as a consultant at US Healthcare-giant, Mass General Brigham and prior to that at Unilever. She has served as Chief Information Officer at both Towergate Insurance and Belron International. In her early career, she undertook many technology leadership roles at Reuters (now Thomson Reuters), Barclays and Sainsburys. Jill is also a Non-executive Director of Curtis Banks plc and Chairman of Dunstan Thomas Ltd.

Jill was reappointed to the NS&I Board on 1 February 2022 for a further three-year term.



Sharmila Nebhrajani OBE – Independent Non-executive Director and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee

Sharmila was appointed as a Non-executive Director in March 2017. She took up the position of Chairman of the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in May 2020 and stood down from her role as Chief Executive of Wilton Park at that time. Sharmila also took up appointments as Non-executive Director to the boards of Severn Trent plc and ITV plc.

She is a Trustee of Lifesight, a pensions master trust, and a Trustee Governor of The Health Foundation, an endowed charity dedicated to improving healthcare in the UK. Earlier in her career, for 12 years, Sharmila was Chief Operating Officer of BBC Future Media and Technology, the division that built and launched the iPlayer, and she was also Chair of the Human Tissue Authority, the organisation that regulates the use of human organs and tissue for transplant and research.

A biomedical scientist by background, Sharmila is also a chartered accountant. She read Physiological Sciences at Oxford University and was awarded an OBE in 2014 for services to Medical Research.

Shar will leave her role as a NED to NS&I board this summer.



Kunal Patel – HM Treasury representative

Kunal was appointed to the NS&I board on 18 April 2022.

Kunal is one of two Deputy Directors for the Debt and Reserves Management team in HM Treasury. In his role he has lead responsibility for advising on debt financing through the Government backed savings organisation, NS&I. His team are also responsible for managing the UK's official reserves, coinage policy, and a range of Bank of England issues (notes, market interventions and shareholder interest). He also sits on the Themes Sub-Committee of the Royal Mint Advisory Committee on the Design of Coins, Medals, Seals and Decorations.

Executive Team

- Ian Ackerley Chief Executive
- Ruth Curry People and Finance Director
- Dax Harkins Business-to-Business Director
- Gareth Headon Acting Director, Communications and Strategy
- Paul Henry Risk Director
- Matthew Smith Chief Operating Officer and Senior Responsible Officer for Rainbow Programme
- Jill Waters Retail Director